Engaging Civil Society in Peacemaking – 1-Hour Webinar with Suzanne Ghais – August 2, 2017


The Association for Conflict Resolution International Section presents:

ENGAGING CIVIL SOCIETY IN PEACEMAKING
1-Hour Free Webinar with Suzanne Ghais – August 2, 2017

ABOUT SUZANNE GHAIS

Suzanne Ghais is principal at Ghais Mediation and Facilitation and an adjunct instructor at American University’s School of International Service. She recently completed her Ph.D. in international relations at American University (AU) with a focus on peace processes. Her consulting practice offers mediation, facilitation, training, and other conflict resolution services in several arenas including peacemaking, environmental controversies, and workplace issues. She teaches two courses “Conflict Assessment and Prevention” and “International Negotiation” through AU’s online master’s program in international relations. Prior to her doctoral studies, Dr. Ghais practiced mediation and facilitation for 20 years, addressing workplace, consumer-business, and public policy issues and conducting research and evaluation on peacebuilding projects. She has conducted dozens of training courses on mediation, facilitation, arbitration, negotiation, and conflict resolution skills. Dr. Ghais is the author of Extreme Facilitation: Guiding Groups through Controversy and Complexity (Jossey-Bass/Wiley, 2005) as well as numerous articles. She earned her Bachelor’s degree from Brown University and her Master’s degree from the Institute for Conflict Analysis and Resolution at George Mason University. She lives in the Denver area with her husband and two daughters.

WEBINAR DESCRIPTION

Many have been calling for peace processes to be more inclusive, particularly of civil society. How this helps promote peace—and how mediators and peacebuilders can help—has been less clear.

In this webinar, Suzanne Ghais overviews her research exploring how inclusion or exclusion of civil society affected peace processes in Liberia, Chad, and the Philippines. In these cases, civil society, when included, pressed for addressing underlying sources of conflict and helped build public support for the peace. Suzanne will discuss the practical implications for peacebuilders in fragile and post-conflict societies, such as the many different ways civil society can contribute to a peace process, what to do where civil society is not well developed, and ways to support grassroots organizations in promoting peace.

WHY ATTEND?

Participants will gain:

  • A better understanding of the cutting-edge issue of inclusivity in peace processes
  • Practical methods for including civil society representatives in peace processes, national dialogues, or smaller-scale, local mediations
  • Other ideas for working with civil society groups to promote peace

WHO SHOULD ATTEND?

  • Mediators working to prevent or settle violent conflict
  • Facilitators of national dialogues
  • Peacebuilding professionals
  • Development professionals working with grassroots civil society groups
  • Anyone involved in preparing for, conducting, or implementing peace accords

WHEN AND HOW

This 1-hour webinar will take place Wednesday, August 2, 2017 at 1:00pm Eastern Time (10:00am Pacific Time | 11:00am Mountain Time | Noon Central Time | 6:00pm London/UK Time)

You can attend this event with a PC, Mac, Ipad, iPhone, Android tablet or smart phone. Admission is FREE, but seating is limited.